19th Century Genius


Miami Beach Botanical Garden
2000 Convention Center Drive
33139 Miami Beach, FL
United States
February 21, 2016, 6:00 pm to 8:00 pm
Concert Series: 

String Sextet in D minor "Souvenir de Florence", Op. 70, composed in 1890 by Russian composer Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893). The work was titled "Souvenir de Florence" because the composer sketched one of the work's principal themes while visiting Florence, Italy.

String Sextet #2 in G major, Op. 36 by German composer Johannes Brahms. Brahms (1833-1897) did most of the composition in comfortable country surroundings near Baden-Baden, Germany in 1864-65. According to a Brahms biographer, it conceals a reference to the first name of Agathe von Siebold (with whom he was infatuated at the time) in the first movement. The work is characterized by its exotic sounding opening of the first movement, by innovative chord structures and its many contrasts both technical and melodic. Both string sextets are scored for 2 violins, 2 violas, and 2 cellos.