Coral Gables Museum
285 Aragon Avenue
33134 Coral Gables, FL
United States
October 23, 2014, 8:00 pm
Concert Series: 

Music from Cuba and Argentina. Written in 1951, the String Quartet by Julian Orbon will open the program. Orbon (1925-1991) was a Cuban composer who lived and composed in Spain, Cuba, Mexico, and the United States. He died in Miami in 1991. Aaron Copland referred to Orbón as "Cuba's most gifted composer of the new generation.” We will play String Quartet #1 (1948) by Alberto Ginastera (1916-1983). An Argentine composer, Ginastera is considered one of the most important 20th-century classical composers of the Americas.

Luis Fernandez, violin
Tony Seepersad, violin
Rafael Ramirez, viola
Michael Andrews, cello

Tickets at the door: $25 general and $15 students and seniors